Home

I originally grew up in Bethesda, Maryland. I was born in Virginia, but when I was 6 months old, my family moved into our Bethesda house. We lived there for 21 years until last April when we moved to Charlotte. I’ve never experienced a move before. It was actually Easter weekend, and the Thursday that we finished classes, I waited for my girlfriend to arrive in High Point from Greenville, NC, and then we drove to Charlotte. It was really weird to think that this was my new home. It was even weirder to think that I will never set foot in the house I lived in for 21 years. Our new house is great, though. It was in horrible condition when we moved in. If an appliance wasn’t broken when we moved in, it broke in the coming weeks after the move in. It’s funny to laugh at now, but needless to say, my parents were beyond pissed.

Throughout the summer, I can’t remember a single day where there wasn’t some sort of contractor, plumber, or handyman in the house. It was that bad. However, I was working 8-5 every day, so I didn’t even notice half of them. It’s a pretty cool feeling – having this whole new area to see what it has to offer. For those who haven’t been in the South Charlotte area, you’re severely missing out. I couldn’t be happier. It was a stressful summer but I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. Towards the end of the summer we went to the beach for a week, and it’s funny to think that I was more relaxed when we got back to Charlotte than when we were at the beach.

The last time I was in Maryland was in late June and that wasn’t even for 48 hours. I’ll be going back to Bethesda with my girlfriend for spring break to see all our friends and visit her family. Originally our plan was to go to Florida or somewhere in the Caribbean, but we quickly scrapped that idea. I do miss Maryland, though, so we decided that would be better. We would also save tons of money. As much as I would love to dip into my savings and take out a whole bunch, I really wouldn’t. This way is much better though. I may live in Charlotte and I absolutely love it, but Maryland is pretty much all I know to be my home. Since I don’t live in Charlotte ’round the clock and even when I did, I was only home at night because I worked during the day. I didn’t experience what it was like to live there day in day out. I plan on living in Charlotte for the rest of my life, so one day I will find out.

Leave a comment