Snow day

I’ve noticed one thing about the South that makes me laugh: it is the ability (or lack thereof) to deal with snow. Go into any grocery store before a snow storm hits and you will see people stocking up on milk and bread. It’s hysterical. Last year, just before it snowed 6 inches, I went into the beer section of Harris Teeter and it was nearly empty. Glad to see people have their priorities in order (no sarcasm).  Let’s face it – what’s a better way to deal with a snow day than hanging with some friends? Of course, after some homework, I took advantage of a day off.

Then, on Tuesday night, after a tiny bit of snow that gave us a great snow day, I went to a concert with a few friends. I had an amazing time. I got to see Fallujah, Revocation, and The Contortionist. No worries if you don’t recognize the names. I don’t know many people who would – unless you’re into metal. Fallujah and The Contortionist are two of my favorite bands, and I had been waiting to go to this concert since it was announced three months ago. After one of the bands went up, I saw that Fallujah’s singer was at the bar, drinking a beer, while talking with some people. I always seem to forget to unbelievably humble these people are. They are always glad to talk with fans, and they’ll always have a giant smile on their faces. We chatted for a minute or two, and I was on my way. More people wanted to talk to him and I wanted to let other people have a chance to talk to him. After the final two bands went up, the concert was over. I got to talk to the singer of The Contortionist, as well as get a picture with him. He and I talked for quite some time. Incredibly nice and grateful person, despite his fame. I was talking about it with my friend afterwards, and we both agreed that we always tend to forget that they are everyday people, just like you and I. They have families, hopes, and worries just like we all do.

Anyways, that was my snow day. I can’t think of a better way I could have spent it.

One thought on “Snow day

  1. I’ve enjoyed your blog the past few weeks. Your posts on the 911 Museum and Last Semester of College were very deep and show great maturity and values. I’m glad you also get a little fun in too, like on the snow day! Nice work!

    Like

Leave a comment