Final week

It’s a scary feeling knowing that I will be graduating in 16 days. There are so many thoughts going through my head. I know I need to get the best out of these final two weeks but at the same time, there is so much to do. Luckily I’ve already gotten three presentations out of the way this week. I still have a paper and three finals but in the grand scheme of things, that’s not much at all. Compared to many other people, I’ve got it very easy. I feel especially bad for the Comm Law students. Yikes.

Still, I can’t help but think back of all the great times I’ve had here at HPU. I also can’t help but notice that these past four years have gone by incredibly fast. My parents used to say it all the time. They would say “Enjoy it while you can. These four years will be the best and the fastest four years in your life.” I thought, “Oh, it’s still four years. That’s such a long time.” No. It’s really not. Four years blow by in the blink of an eye. I wish I had realized that as a freshman. At the same time, however, I can’t afford to think about what could have been or what I should have done to make things different. I just have to look forward to the future and think of all the possibilities it may bring. And at the age of 22, life is still very full of possibilities.

It’s exciting. It’s great to think that it’s now my turn to go out and change the world. It’s our turn to make a difference. I have a pretty good idea of what I’ll be doing for the rest of my life, but life is very unpredictable. That’s one of the most important things I’ve learned in the past month. You have no idea what you will be doing or where you will be in a few years from now. Life happens. The best you can do is deal with it and move on. Embrace it, even. My mentor at my job explained it to me very well. One of his clients was a defensive linemen from Uconn years back and that’s where he got it from. He said that life, just like the other players on the line, will keep coming at you. It will keep battering you and try to knock you down. The most important thing you can do is to push back and not let it knock you to the ground. However, if life does knock you to the ground, get back up. Keep trying. Learn from it and become a better person. Life is tough and there is no way around that.

One thought on “Final week

Leave a comment